First week of work

It’s been a bit of a whirlwind week. Tuesday was my first day of work at Rocksteady, so it was a shorter week. Here are a few general impressions so far.

Everyone seems very nice. I’ve felt welcomed, my opinion has often been asked, I’ve been given responsibility over various initiatives. I still feel like I have a lot to learn about the code, about the structure of the company and how to move things forward, but generally it seems like the structure rewards personal initiative, and that’s how I like it.

The office is beautiful, and has a fancy espresso machine that I’m slowly learning how to use, as well as other free drinks and snacks. Around lunch, someone yells, “Salad man!” or “Soup man!” as someone comes through and sells those things for folks that want to buy lunch to eat in. There’s also a regular group that has a pattern of which day they go where for lunch. And there’s a group that stays around and plays video games over lunch. Seems familiar…

A few random things from the week:

Work folks and I went to “Wahaca” (butchered spelling of Oaxaca), a mexican burrito place that’s very popular here. Leah is protesting all mexican food here, especially places that claim things like “real California burritos”. I think they were just okay, not terrible, but not great or anything really like Californian ones, though you can tell they’re trying.

There’s a lot of folks who go out for beers on Friday after work, so we did that with some folks and Leah came too and that was nice. Barely starting, but starting to get to know people.

We got a bank account! Seems silly to celebrate that, but it was difficult! We got turned down by 2 or 3 places for not having the paperwork they required to prove UK residency, but managed to get an HSBC account with the help of Rocksteady. Our contactless debit and credit cards come in the mail soon, so hopefully soon I can stop carrying around cash and the millions of tiny 1 and 2 pence (and 1 and 2 pound) coins that inevitably result from that.

Our phones are all up and working! You can call our US phone numbers and it will magically travel through the internet to reach us via data, and it uses so little data to be a non issue. Texting works, too. So give us a call!

I’m sure Leah will update you all on her impressions of her first week, too, but that’s all from me for now. Here’s a picture of the view I had from the lobby waiting to enter work for my first day:

2016-05-03 10.44.47

5 thoughts on “First week of work”

  1. Congrats on your UK bank account! When Gary and I finally wrangled a French bank account (as U.S. Citizens), we said we’d put that on our résumés as a major accomplishment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

